University of Toronto Mississauga

Facts about UTM
  • Established in 1967, the University of Toronto Mississauga is the second-largest division of U of T (Canada’s largest university), numbering 13,500 undergraduate students, 575 graduate students, over 2,300 full- and part-time employees (including 915 permanent faculty and staff) as well as over 49,000 alumni.


  • The campus is situated on 225 acres of protected greenbelt along the Credit River, 33 kilometres west of the university’s St. George campus in Toronto.


  • U of T Mississauga has 15 academic departments, 147 programs and 90 areas of study, and includes the Institute for Management & Innovation and the Centre for South Asian Civilizations. The Mississauga Academy of Medicine is located on campus in the Terrence Donnelly Health Sciences Complex.


  • Along with traditional undergraduate, master’s and doctoral programs, U of T Mississauga offers several highly soughtafter degree options, such as a Bachelor of Business Administration, a Master of Biomedical Communications, a Master of Biotechnology, a Master in Management and Professional Accounting, a Master of Management of Innovation, a Master of Science in Sustainability Management and a Diploma in Investigative and Forensic Accounting.


  • Famous U of T Mississauga alumni include astronaut Dr. Roberta Bondar, filmmaker Richie Mehta, Twitter vice-president Kirstine Stewart, actor Zaib Shaikh and writer/poet Dionne Brand.


  • U of T Mississauga and Sheridan Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning offer joint programs in theatre and drama studies; art and art history; and communication, culture and information technology.


  • In 2013, the City of Mississauga committed to a 10-year $10 million investment in U of T Mississauga to help build the new Innovation Complex, a $35-million building that houses the Institute for Management & Innovation, a new model for business education combining management studies with key industry sectors, as well as the I-CUBE business incubator. The facility will help develop a culture of innovation and drive economic development in the region.


  • Deerfield Hall is one of the newest buildings on campus. It houses theatre rehearsal space as well as office and research facilities for the departments of Mathematical and Computational Sciences, Psychology, and English and Drama.


  • Award-winning facilities include the Terrence Donnelly Health Sciences Complex, the Instructional Centre, the Hazel McCallion Academic Learning Centre, the Recreation, Athletics and Wellness Centre, Deerfield Hall and the Communication, Culture and Technology building.


  • U of T Mississauga is involved in numerous community and civic initiatives, including the Mississauga Board of Trade, Advantage Mississauga, the Healthy City Stewardship Centre; the Research Innovation and Commercialization Centre; and the United Way of Peel Region





  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Twitter Icon